Powering Through The Block

This is one of those times when I’m sitting down to write, and have absolutely no idea what I want to write about. As a forewarning, this does not usually make for good reading material. Usually it just poses the question, “what in the world is it that goes on inside Andy’s head?”

Too often in my life, I’ve been stricken with writer’s block. A lot of times, this seems to coincide with me starting a blog. In my experience, forced writing is very rarely, if ever, good writing. Almost everything I write is heavily dependent on getting a good flow going. Without that, I might as well be writing essay responses to standardized test questions. I’m able to provide the grammar and sentence structure necessary to formulate a well written response when I want to, but for me, forced writing is about as in-depth as an episode of Jersey Shore.

Tangent: Jersey Shore is not in-depth and should never be viewed by anyone ever.

One might ask the question, “why would you want to write if you have writer’s block?” In this case there are two reasons. First, I have pledged to myself and to others that this blog will be different than all my other blogs, in that I will for once in my life achieve consistency, even if it kills me. The second is that, in my experience, writer’s block does not go away over time. For me, writer’s block is cold, stiff fingers at a 7:00 AM marching rehearsal in January. It requires me to start slowly at first, until everything is  warmed up and in motion. Then, and only then, can the prose once again fire from my synapses and travel into my fingers, with the occasional roundabout trip through my heart.

In retrospect, I realize that to some I might seem like an arrogant prima donna of a writer, with my demands for silence and my incessant whining about writer’s block. I’m really not; I promise. I want this blog to be reflective not only of my best writing, but also dive deep enough into my subconscious so that I actually have something of substance to say. I do think that since starting this blog, I’ve started to break down some of the barriers that have prevented me from writing consistently in the past. Hopefully that will continue, and as a result I’ll be able to write more freely and more often.

If nothing else, writing an entire post about how I’ve got nothing to say makes for some good irony on a Monday. Since I’ve started writing today, I’ve already come up with a few ideas for posts later this week… such as the 4th of July and what it’s like to perform the 1812 Overture in close proximity to a cannon. For now though, I’ll leave you with a haiku about today’s post. Because nothing celebrates the birth of our nation more than short, obscure Japanese poetry:

I have writer’s block
Nothing else to say today
Abracadabra.

  1. #1 by Tim on July 3, 2012 - 4:08 am

    And just like that, my cat turned into a tree.

Leave a Reply

